Major cities in Cambodia


1. Phnom Penh

Phnom Penh is the capital of the Kingdom of Cambodia, located in the central plain area, where Mekong River, Tonle Sap River and Bassac meet. It covers an area of 289 square kilometers and has a population of about 2 million. Since it became the capital of Cambodia in 1434, it has been a center of politics, economy and culture center as well as a traffic hub of land and water, and domestic and international aviation.

2. Sihanouk Ville

Sihanouk Ville was once called Kompong Som, located in north Cambodia. It borders Gulf of Thailand in the west and about 240 kilometers away from Phnom Penh. The unique international seaport of Cambodia is located in Sihanouk Ville. And it is a famous resort in Cambodia, enjoying a humid weather and owning the well-known beaches.

3. Siem Reap Province

Siem Reap Province is located in northwest Cambodia, 314 kilometers away from Phnom Penh, covering an area of 15,000 square kilometers. It has a population of 80 thousand, and 1.35 thousand of which are living in its capital, Siem Reap. The province is abundant in cultural relics and tourist resources, possessing 292 ancient temples. The famous Angkor Monuments, one of the Seven Wonders of the World listed by UNESCO, is located at 6 kilometers away from north of Siem Reap. The biggest freshwater lake of Indo-China Peninsula, Tonle Sap Lake is located in the north of Siem Reap Province. Tourism, agriculture and fishery are the pillar industries of Siem Reap Province.

Copyright Nanning Municipal Government All Rights Reserved. Your kindly feedback will be highly expected.